Bulgarian Journal of Psychiatry, 2023; 8(2):3-11


Georgi Onchev, Ivayla Kamenova, Desislava Ignatova

Department of Psychiatry and Medical Psychology,
Medical University – Sofia

Abstract. The diagnostic requirements of the main categories delirium, mild neurocognitive disorder, amnestic disorder and dementia in the grouping of neurocognitive disorders in the ICD-11, the differences with ICD-10, as well as the rationale for the changes, are presented. The intimate link of these disorders with neurological and somatic diseases is emphasized. The acquaintance with this grouping in the new classification is accompanied by phenomenological analysis, differential diagnosis, and discussion about possible consequences of the new diagnostic requirements for clinical practice.

Key words: neurocognition, delirium, mild neurocognitive disorder, amnestic disorder, ageing, dementia, ICD-11

Full text here.